RSS

Work In Progress Wednesday

16 Jul

I’m stealing borrowing blatantly ripping off this idea from Tami Veldura. We talked about her WIP Wednesday posts on Twitter, and I thought it would be a good way to not only track my progress, but to keep me accountable to anyone who might be reading this.

What am I working on? Well, remember in my last Status Sunday post where I mentioned a publishing Master Plan?

I have a four book series that I mentioned earlier this year I’ve been working on. The goal is to start shopping for an agent this fall. In fact, I have a specific date for that: October 9th. I didn’t put the day out of a hat–it’s the day after my short story with Less Than Three Press, “Iced Out”, goes up for sale. Since that was the first story I sold, I want to have something I can point back to and say “see, I’ve published this!”.

My plan for this series is to have all four books done and at least lightly edited before I start shopping. I figure that it will look better to a potential agent to have an entire series already finish and (almost) ready to go. The first book is done and professionally edited, but I also have it out to two betas, just so they can catch anything that the editor didn’t. The second one is finished, and has been edited by me. The third turned out to be a complete clusterfuck mess, and too short besides, so I handed it to my editor. She is going to take a look at it and see where I can potentially unfuck myself.

Since I’m waiting for editing to come back, I decided to work on writing something in the meantime. The story I picked is also Tami’s fault. I met her on Twitter when she posted that she was looking for authors that were writing about vampires, even with unfinished stories. I told her that I had two that were in the works, but I had put them both aside. I thought about one of them, and remembered that I had set it aside for a sticking point with a character. I did a few hours of research, and got back into it. It’s a hair over 8K words now. I’d like to finish it by the end of July, but we’ll see what happens.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2014 in Writing

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Work In Progress Wednesday

  1. tamiveldura

    July 16, 2014 at 12:01 PM

    Haha! I’m not sorry I got you back into your vampire world :D Good luck! I look forward to hearing about progress next week.

     
    • kmcambion

      July 16, 2014 at 12:33 PM

      Hey, I’m not sorry either. Anything that makes me pick up and finish an old story is good.

       
  2. Hayden

    July 17, 2014 at 2:23 PM

    A little late to the party, but congrats! :) I saw the book cover, and I’ll definitely get myself a copy.

    I think it’s also an excellent idea, finishing the entire series first (and cleaning it up!) before looking for either an agent or a publisher. There won’t be problems with continuity, and as far as the writing goes, it’s like you’re on a roll until the story arc ends.

    Good luck with it!

     
    • kmcambion

      July 23, 2014 at 11:33 AM

      We haven’t talked in a while, but I’ve been reading your entries! Congrats on YOUR new story!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

